

New Mexico Childcare/Pre-School/School Entry Immunization Requirements

2024-25 school year

New Mexico School Nurses are granted Public Health authority by the NM Secretary of Health for collecting and submitting immunization information

Vaccine	Minimum # of vaccine doses by childcare and pre-school age levels									Va	ccin	e do	ses	by s	cho	ol gr	ade	leve	Notes			
- 10001110			by 12 mo.			by 54 mo.	≥ 60 mo.	K	1 st	2 nd	3 rd	4 th	5 th	6 th	7 th	8 th	9 th	10 th	11 th	12 th		
Diphtheria/ Tetanus/ Pertussis (DTaP/DT/Td)*	1	2	3	3	3	4	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	5 (4)	One dose required on/after 4 th birthday. Four doses are sufficient if last dose given on/after 4th birthday , with at least 6 months between the last two doses. Five doses are preferred for optimal protection.	
Tetanus/ Diphtheria/ Pertussis (Tdap)															1	1	1	1	1	1	1 dose req'd for gr. 7-12 entry. Tdap should be given at age 11-12 but can be given at 10. Doses before age 10 are not valid for 7th grade entry.	
Polio (IPV)* (OPV [‡])	1	2	2	2	3	4 (3)	4 (3)	4	4	4	4	4	4	4	4	4	4	4	4	4	Students in K-12 th grades final dose required on or after 4 th birthday. Three doses suffice if CDC's catch-up schedule used AND last dose was given on/after 4 th birthday with at least 6 months between the last two doses.	
Measles/ Mumps/ Rubella (MMR)				1	1	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	Min. age for valid 1st dose is 12 months. Live vaccines (MMR, Varicella) must be given on the same day; if not, they must be administered a min. of 28 days apart.§	
Haemophilus Influenzae type B (Hib)*	1	2	2	2	3/2/1	3/2/1	3/2/1															
Hepatitis B (HepB)	1	2	3 see below	3	3	3	3	3	3	3	3	3	3	3 (2)	3 (2)	3 (2)	3 (2)	3 (2)	3 (2)	3 (2)	Two doses adult Recombivax HB also valid if administered at age 11-15 & if dose 2 rec'd no sooner than 16 wks. after dose 1.	
Pneumococcal (PCV)*	2	3	3	4/3/ 2/1	4/3/2 /1	4/3/2 /1	4/3/2/ 1/0															
Varicella (VAR)				1	1	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	2	Min. age for 1st dose is 12 mos. Dose 2 should ideally be given at age>= 4, see note on page 2. Live vaccines (MMR, Varicella) must be given on the same day; if not, they must be administered a minimum of 28 days apart.§	
Hepatitis A (HepA)				1	1	2	2	2	2	2	2										Hep A vaccine is recommended for catch up in grades 4-12. Minimum age for valid Hep A is 12 months.	
Meningococcal Men ACWY															1	1	1	1	1	2	1 dose required for 7 th -11 th grade entry. 2 doses required by grade 12 and recommended at age 16. Detailed vaccine schedule on page 2.	

*Minimum age 6 weeks

Recommended vaccines: These vaccines are recommended but not required for school entry at this time.

Influenza (flu): Age-appropriate vaccination is recommended every year.

HPV: This cancer-preventing vaccine is strongly recommended at age 11-12, and can be given as early as age 9.

COVID-19: Age-appropriate vaccinations for 6 months through 18 years are recommended. Refer to the NM Dept. of Health COVID-19 website for the latest guidance: https://cv.nmhealth.org/covid-vaccine/

Recommended # doses for adult students 19+ in secondary school							
Vaccine	# Doses						
Tetanus/Diphtheria/Pertussis (Tdap)	1						
Measles/Mumps/Rubella (MMR)	2						
Varicella (VAR)	2						

New Mexico Childcare/Pre-School/School Entry Immunization Requirements

2024-25 school year

Additional guidance for: Intervals, catch-up schedule, proof of immunity

Diphtheria/Tetanus/Pertussis: If child (4 months-6 years) is behind schedule, follow the CDC's catch-up schedule.

Tetanus/Diphtheria/Pertussis: 7th-12th graders require proof of 1 dose of Tdap regardless of when the last Td-containing vaccine was given. Catch-up: Children 7-18 years who are not fully immunized with the childhood DTaP series should be vaccinated according to the CDC's catch-up schedule, with Tdap as the 1st dose followed by Td if needed. A 3-dose series is sufficient if initiated after age 7, in which one dose must be Tdap, followed by 2 doses of Td. Children age 7-9 who receive 1 dose Tdap as part of the catch-up series require 1 additional dose at 11-12 for 7th grade entry.

Polio: A minimum of 4 weeks between doses required with 6 months between last two doses. **‡OPV:** Only trivalent OPV counts as valid. Monovalent or bivalent OPV are not valid. All OPV doses given after 4/1/16 are assumed to be mono or bivalent.

MMR: Required 2nd dose should be given on/after 4th birthday. However, dose 2 may be given earlier with at least 4 weeks between dose 1 and 2.

Hib: If series started <12 months of age, 3 doses required with at least 1 dose on/after 1st birthday. Two doses required if dose 1 received at 12-14 months. One dose of Hib vaccine administered between age 16-59 months is sufficient. Not recommended ≥60 months of age.

Hep B: Dose 2 a minimum of 4 weeks after dose 1; dose 3 at least 16 weeks after dose 1 and at least 8 weeks after dose 2. For Infants currently receiving the primary series, the final dose must be administered no earlier than 24 weeks.

PCV: Administer a series of PCV13 vaccine at ages 2, 4, 6 months with a booster at age 12-15 months. Catch-up: Administer one dose of PCV13 to all healthy children 12-59 months who are not completely vaccinated for their age; children >60 months, no doses required.

Varicella: For children ages 12 months to 12 years, the minimum interval between the two doses is 3 months. However, if dose 2 was administered ≥28 days after dose 1, dose 2 is considered valid and need not be repeated. For children ≥13 years, the recommended minimum interval is 4 wks. Required for proof of varicella immunity:

- For K-9th graders: Receipt of vaccine; titer or laboratory confirmed diagnosis is required as proof of prior disease.
- For 10th-12th graders: Receipt of vaccine, written proof of immunity by a physician/health care provider or laboratory titer is required.
- For all newly diagnosed varicella cases: Lab confirmation of disease is required.

Hep A: One dose required by 15 months; 2 doses required at 48 mos. with at least 6 months between doses.

MenACWY: All adolescents should receive a dose of MenACWY at age 11-12. A 2nd (booster) dose is recommended at age 16 and required by grade 12. Booster dose given before age 16 is not considered valid. Adolescents who receive the 1st dose at age 13 -15 should receive a booster dose at age 16. The minimum interval between MenACWY doses is 8 weeks. Adolescents who receive the 1st dose after their 16th birthday do not need a booster dose. Doses of MenACWY given to children age 9 or younger do not count for the school requirements and must be repeated at age 11-12 and boosted at age 16.

4-Day Grace Period: Any vaccine administered ≤4 days prior to minimum interval or age is valid.

§However, the 4-day "grace period" should not be applied to the 28-day interval between live parenteral vaccines not administered at the same visit (MMR and Varicella).

Notes

- All students enrolled in designated grades are expected to meet requirements.
- Changes from last year's requirements are highlighted for ease of use.

Resources

CDC Immunization Schedule has detailed footnotes and catch-up schedule https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/child-adolescent.html

NM Immunization Protocol

https://nmhealth.org/publication/view/regulation/531/

NMSIIS

https://nmsiis.health.state.nm.us

NM School Health Manual https://www.nmhealth.org/about/phd/pchb/osah/shm/ Page 2 of 2 • Updated 12/11/23